Stowmarket Town Council is the first tier of local government for Stowmarket in Suffolk. Formed in 1974 from the Stowmarket Urban District Council, the Town Council serves a population of approximately 20,000 people in four wards. We are made up of 16 elected members backed up by a staff of over 30.

Our meetings usually take place on the first and third Wednesdays of the month in the historic John Milton Room, Milton House.

The Town Council has six standing Committees which are:

  • Audit & Governance Committee;
  • Business Improvement Committee;
  • Operations & Strategy Committee;
  • Personnel Committee;
  • Planning & Development Committee; and
  • Regal Theatre Committee.

We operate from offices at Milton House, Milton Road South, Stowmarket, Suffolk IP14 1EZ.

Our contact details are as follows:
Telephone: 01449 612060

Our office opening hours are:
Monday 9am – 4pm
Tuesday 9am – 4pm
Wednesday CLOSED
Thursday 9am – 4pm
Friday 9am – 4pm